City of Glass Review

This is my first book review, so I apologise if it is too long and a bit messy. I’m still working out how my book reviews are going to work but I’m willing to give it a go. So here we go!

I’m doing this review on City of Glass, the third book in the Mortal Instruments series written by Cassandra Clare. This series I have read once before, but it has been a few year since I last read it, I’m older now and when you’re older you seem to perceive books differently then what you did when you read them when you were younger. This series is in my top 5 favourite book series, so I just had to do a review on this since I just finished reading this book last night! ūüôā

I would like to star this blog off by telling you guys what description is on the back of the book:

‘Amid the chaos of war, the Shadowhunters must decide to fight with the vampires, werewolves and other Downworlders – or against them. Meanwhile, Jace and Clary have their own decision to make: should they pursue the love they know is forbidden?’

This series, just hit home. It hit right in the heart. This book gave me so many emotions, I felt like I just could not deal. I can not explain why it hit my emotions hard, without giving you all a small idea of what this book is about. So here we go!

Plot:

I do not want to give too much information away, so I’ll try my hardest to keep this brief but descriptive, if that is even possible.

Clary plans a trip to Idris, (The City of Glass) the home of the Shadowhunters to find a warlock that could save her mother, however the trip goes wrong when Jace tries to protect her by planning to go to Idris without her. Clary works her own way to get to Idris, dragging Luke, the guy that’s always been a father figure to her along with her through a portal that she created, which shouldn’t have been possible. Putting both of them at risk because it is against Clave law to enter the city without permission. They were portal led to the outskirts of the city, ending up in Lake Lyn, the Lake that has been cursed for many centuries, causing Clary to Hallucinate, Luke must get her to the city and hope that he can get her there in time and that he can get medical attention to her before it is too late.

Jace and Clary have also¬†just found out that they are brothers and sisters, their father being Valentine, a Shadowhunter like his children, who is¬†wanting to take over Idris to¬†get rid of Downworlders and Shadow hunters that have worked beside Downworlders, risking anyone’s life that gets in his way, even his own children. Downworlders are supernatural and hybrid creatures that inhabit the Shadow world. Downworlders are vampires (Daylighters),¬†wolves (Children of the moon), warlocks (Lilith’s Children)¬†and faeries (Fair folk). ¬†Shadow hunters (Nephilim)¬†are humans that are born with angelic¬†power to protect the Shadow world from demons. However Shadowhunters and Downworlders do not get along, they avoid one another and have a sense of hatred for each other.¬†However, this soon changes when Clary is able convince the Clave to get Shadowhunters and Downworlders to work alongside each other through¬†a creation¬†of a binding¬†Rune that can be placed on Downworlders as well as Shadowhunters, something that has never occurred before.

Clary’s mother is cured by Warlock Magnus Bane through the help of¬†Clary and Sebastian (a guy that is¬†a¬†Shadowhunter, a family member of the family¬†Jace is staying with while being in Idris)¬†and returns to Idris just in time to fight along side the other Shadow Hunters after the city is first attacked by Valentines demons. Jace goes off on his own to seek vengeance after losing his adoptive brother Max in the battle at the age of 9 after discovering that Sebastian is not who he said he was, he was a spy for Valentine, and is actually Valentines son and Clary’s brother, (Johnathon). Through Jace fighting with Johnathon he discovers his true identity, he is not Clary’s sister, but he was raised by Valentine but it was kept hidden. Valentine soon shipped him off to the Lightwoods to be adopted by them, but everyone knew him as being the Wayland’s son. Clary also discovered this and became desperate to end the battle so that she could be with Jace, a guy that she fell in love with from day one. Their love was not forbidden anymore.

Clary does her own battling, by portal ling herself to Lake Lyn, where Valentine will be because Lake Lyn is the third mortal Instruments that Valentine is seeking to take over Idris and create his new race of Shadowhunters. However, it does not go as planned and she finds her self gagged and tied by a rune that Valentine placed on her when she had¬†landed herself¬†into the Lake. Jace turns up while Valentine was trying to raise the angel out of the lake, only to get stabbed through the heart, breaking Clary’s heart. However, this did no last long when the Angel turned on Valentine and killed him, and then asking Clary what she wanted him to grant her, she asked for Jace back, the angel granted this for Clary.

Characters:

I did not mention all the characters in the plot, because some characters you just have to discover for yourself in what role the play in the story. Every character you just fall in love with instantly.

I have a few favourite characters and I would like to share them with you:

  • Jace: a Shadowhunter that has a loyal heart to the one he loves, although has trouble showing his emotions. He also has a wonderful sense of humour and goes above and beyond to protect Clary.
  • Clary: a new Shadowhunter, who did not even know she was a Shadow hunter and has adapted to her new life style while trying to save her mother. I connect with Clary because her personality is a lot like mine, she takes on a lot of responsibility and tries to take care of everyone, especially her best friend Simon. I also feel a connection with Clary because of how fast she had to grow up along with the fact that she is an artist and loves to create art she carries her sketch book with her everywhere.
  • Magnus: A gay warlock with an amazing sense of humour, sarcasm and of course fashion! Magnus is a character that you can not help but love especially when he starts to date Alec Lightwood in secret. Magnus first comes across as a character that does not care about anyone but soon shows that he has a soft heart and cares for this group of Shadowhunters immensely.
  • Alec: Jace’s brother (adoptive), who tries his hardest to not show how much he cares about people, particularly Jace. He seems to be blunt and sarcastic all in one, especially when Simon is around (Clary’s best friend) annoying Jace.
  • Simon: Clary’s best friend. He’s like a protective caring big brother to Clary, always supporting her and trying to protect while also supporting her in everything she chooses to do. He doesn’t know how to communicate unless its with sarcasm which is why Jace and Simon clash a lot and always seem to be bickering.

This book series is full of amazing characters that are full of personality that you can not help but feel a connection with all of them.

Overall:

I do not have anything bad to say about this book! I loved everything about it, even the sad parts in the book! Everything in this book is what made it amazing and I feel such a connection with this series. Every time I read this I do not feel like I’m a reader, I feel like I am in the story along side Clary fighting every battle along sider her and feeling all her emotions.¬†I really felt like I was in¬†the book, and to me that is what helps¬†make a book so amazing, is when you feel like you are in the book, not just the reader. I can not wait to¬†finish the series, and I’ll be posting my thoughts on the others when I finish¬†them. I would definitely read this book again, I rate this book 5 stars and recommend it to anyone that likes a series that’s about love and adventure with a few fighting scenes.

Favourite quotes or scenes:

I have a few favourite quotes that I would like to share with you all:

  1. ‘There is no pretending,’ Jace said with absolute clarity. ‘I love you, and I will love you until I die, and if there’s a life after that, I’ll love you then.’

I just love this quote, I’m a hopeless romantic ūüėõ

2.¬†¬† ‘I’m going to die, he thought. I’m dying. This is it. He wondered if his heart had already been pierced, He couldn’t move, couldn’t breathe. He knew now what it must be like for a butterfly pinned to a board.’

This quote is a bit depressing but the way his pain was described, and used the butterfly example was just so powerful.

 

Leave a Reply

