Reading Habits – Book tag

I’m doing this Reading Habits- Book tag, so that you can all get to know me a bit better as a reader! 🙂 I saw this over on between folded pages who invited anyone to participate in this book tag, you can follow them and read their tag here: https://betweenfoldedpages.wordpress.com/2016/07/05/reading-habits-tag/

So I thought that I should give this a go, because I quite like knowing the reading habits have and thought you all might like to know my reading habits, since I’m a bit of a book worm and have been since I was about 5.

  1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I’ve been living out of home for the past 8 months now, so some of my reading habits have changed. I use to love reading in my parents lounge room by the fire place with a nice hot chocolate while my little brother came up to me to see what I was reading all the time, but now that I am being an adult and living out on my own, soon to move in with my fiancé, my favourite place to read is cuddled up in my bed next to my fiancé of a night time when all the house work and University work has been completed. There’s nothing better than being cuddled up with the one you love in a warm bed reading a book 🙂

2.  Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I love bookmarks, they are so beautiful. If I see one I love, ill buy it, or I’ll make one for myself. I hate using random pieces of paper, I always have to use a bookmark because then I feel like my book is being looked after and not associated with random old bites of paper that are probably laying around.

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter or a certain amount of pages?

I really dislike stopping in the middle of a chapter, especially if something exciting is happening. If I really have to stop in the middle of a chapter I will but I will get right back to it! Most of the time, I’ll stop at the end of the chapter. One of the reasons I try to read of a night once everything is done is so that I do not have to stop half way through a chapter.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?

I like to have a hot drink, or a nice cold drink if it’s summer, but I do not eat while I’m reading because I do not want to get the pages covered in finger prints from greasing fingers or crumbs on my books, I dislike my books getting dirty, so even with my drinks I am very  careful! I do not lend my books to people unless I trust them with my life because I am so worried that my books will get covered in food by people.

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

I do not play music or TV while I’m reading if its for me. But I got use to reading in my parents place with the TV going because of my disabled brother watching TV. I learnt to tune out noise. My fiancé is also usually playing games or having YouTube playing in the background, so I guess the TV is usually always playing, but it’s not something I put on for myself. When I am on my own (which is not often because I live with a housemate and my fiancé) I do not have any TV or music playing.

6. One book at a time or several?

I don’t like reading several books at once, being dyslexic I get confused and can not read several books at once. Instead I just read one book at a time but I’m a fast reader so it’s okay 🙂

7. Reading at home or everywhere?

I read everywhere, I take a book with me everywhere. There is always a book in my handbag. I  do not read on buses or cars though, I wish I could but I get car sickness if I’m reading. 😦

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?

I read in my head, if I come across a part that I really like and want to share it, I’ll re-read that particular part out loud to my fiancé or who ever I am with at the time. But, generally I read silently in my head. Sometimes my little brother will sit with me when I am at my parents and I’ll read out loud to him for a little bit, which is cute 🙂

9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

No, I do not want to miss anything when I am reading a good book.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I can not bring myself to break the spine, I always have to keep my books like they are brand new!

11. Do you write in your books?

NO! I keep a note book next to me when I am reading and if I like something or want to take not of something I write it in my note book, I wouldn’t dare put a writing tool on my books.

12. Who do you tag?

I want to tag anyone that feels like participating in this tag!

What are your reading habits? please share! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

