WWW Wednesday

I’m a day late posting this, because I’ve been busy with University exams. So I apologise for my lateness!

This post is a weekly feature that is being hosted by Taking on a World of Words. The idea is to give an update on the books that I have read and am currently reading. Anyone can participate in this feature.

All you have to do is answer the three W’s:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish?
  • What do you think you will read next?

So here we go!

What am I currently reading?

At the moment I am currently reading The Mortal Instruments series along with The Infernal device series as I am reading them in order of the publication date. If you are interested in this order of reading the two series intertwined you can check my post about it here: https://oncemorewithfeelingweb.wordpress.com/2016/10/14/mortal-instruments-and-infernal-device-order/

I am currently half way through book three of The Mortal Instruments series: City of Glass.

What did you recently finish?

Apart from finishing books 1 and 2 of The Mortal Instruments, I finished reading The Splinted series by A.G. Howard. This series is a spin off version of Alice in Wonderland!

splintered book cover2.png

I loved this series, because I absolutely love the original Alice in Wonderland story by Lewis Carroll. This series by A.G. Howard takes a spin off on the series in a magical beautiful set of 4 books, making it easy to create beautiful images in your mind making you feel like you are in the magical world that is set in this book.

This book is about a main character Alyssa Gardner who has inherited the family curse that has been inherited by every female in the family since her ancestor Alice Liddell, the character from Alice’s Adventure in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. The curse of hearing the whispers of bugs and flowers which happened to end up putting her mother in a mental institution after an incident in the garden with her daughter Alyssa at a young age. Alyssa learns to hide her curse from everyone around her by using it as her inspirations for her art work, creating beautiful yet oddly scaring paintings.

Alyssa soon learns that everything she thought was fiction is actually real. That the world of wonderland is as true as it could be. Alyssa finds her self in wonderland with a guy that she has loved since she was a child, a guy that is also her best friend Jebediah Holt. She finds herself being put through tests while also trying to keep Jeb alive from the Moth that has been visiting her through the day and through her dreams, Morpheus.

She has to chose between the world she’s been living in her whole life or Wonderland, the world where everything is magical, the world where she feels she truly loves, to do this she must pass challenges, defeat red and chose between the love of her childhood, Jeb or Morpheus the new but somewhat oddly familiar mysterious sexy guy that she has memories with that she thought were just dreams.

This series is amazing and truly beautiful and magical! If you love Alice in Wonderland I recommend this series! It’s a must! I fell in love all over again with the idea of Wonderland being a magical place! I would definitely read this again, and would recommend it do anyone. This series continues with 3 other books: Unhinged, Ensnared and Untamed!

What do you think you will read next?

My plan is to read Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass. The first book in the Throne of Glass series.

Throne of Glass UK.jpgI’ve heard so much about this series, so I thought I would give it a go since there are so many good reviews. I read the first chapter on ibooks, before buying it and it captured my attention, I was drawn to read more, so I went out and brought the first two books in this series. It’s a young adult fantasy book that has been said to have been inspired by the original fairy tale Cinderella. I’m quite excited to read this story and share my thoughts, I’ll be posting my review once I finish reading this book.

What have you been reading? I’d love to hear about books you have read, if you have any recommendations as to what I should read please comment below! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

